A.T. James earns 1972 Award in Lipid Chemistry

A.T. James, developer of the widely used gas liquid chromatogram, has been named the 1972 recipient of the American Oil Chemists' Society Award in Lipid Chemistry. James, who earned his B.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees at University College in London, is presently employed as Manager of the Biosciences Group at Unilever Research Laboratory, Colworth House, Sharnbrook, Bedfordshire, U.K. His professional career has included the following appointments: Medical Research Council Junior Fellowship at Bedford College, University of London, 1945-47; junior member of staff, Lister Institute for Preventive Medicine, London, 1947-50; member of scientific staff, National Institute for Medical Research, London, 1950-62; Divisional Manager and Head of Biosynthesis Unit, Unilever Research Laboratory, 1962-67; Head of Division of Plant Products and Biochemistry, Unilever Research Laboratory, 1967-69; and Industrial Professor of Chemistry, Loughborough University of Technology.

The AOCS Award in Lipid Chemistry was established in 1964 to recognize the accomplishment of outstanding original research in lipid chemistry, the results of which have been presented through publication of technical papers of high quality. Preference is given to those actively associated with research in lipid chemistry, who have made fundamental discoveries that affect large segments of the lipid field. James, who has authored or coauthored over 150 articles and two books, has made the following major contributions to this field: the development of the gas liquid chromatogram, in collaboration with A.J.P. Martin; the development of radioactive scanners for gas liquid and thin layer chromatography; the development of new detectors for liquid chromatography; and elucidation of the mechanism and stereochemistry of formation of long chain unsaturated acids in higher plants and mammalian systems and the involvement of acyl lipids in biosynthesis of polyunsaturated acids. James is known best for his work on gas liquid chromatography, which has become an indispensable tool for the separation, identification and quantitative estimation of individual members of mixtures of closely related compounds, making possible a variety of new approaches and increasing the effectiveness of research activities in these areas. James is presently working to define the stereochemistry of the dehydrogenation of fatty acids and to elucidate the nature of the interaction between the fatty chain of the substrate and the desaturase enzymes.

In addition to the AOCS Award in Lipid Chemistry, James has earned the following: the Beit Memorial Fellowship for Medical Research, 1948-50; the "1956" Prize of the American Society of Cosmetic Chemists (jointly with



A.T. James

A.J.P. Martin), 1957; the John Price Wetherill Medal of the Franklin Institute of the United States (jointly with A.J.P. Martin and R.L.M. Synge), 1959; and the Bronze Medal of the French Biochemical Society, 1962.

James is active in the Science Research Council, the major grant-awarding body in the U.K.; he is also president of the International Conferences on the Biochemistry of Lipids, member of the ARC-MRC Joint Committee on Food and Nutrition Research and member of the Steering Committee of the Physico Chemical Methods Unit of Harwell (Science Research Council). A member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the European Journal of Biochemistry, James is also Associate Editor of Lipids and the Journal of Chromatography.

The AOCS Award in Lipid Chemistry, which is sponsored by Applied Science Laboratories and carries an honorarium of \$2500, was presented to James in the form of a plaque at the AOCS 46th Annual Fall Meeting, September 24-28, 1972, in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

CALL FOR PAPERS

AOCS 64TH ANNUAL SPRING MEETING

papers to be presented at the AOCS Spring Meeting, April Dupuy, Southern Regional Research Lab., P.O. Box 19687, 29-May 3, 1973, in the Jung Hotel, New Orleans, La. Papers New Orleans, La. 70179. The deadline for submitting on lipids, fats and oils, and all related areas are welcome.

Submit three copies of a 100-300 word abstract with

The Technical Program Committee has issued a call for title, authors and speaker to Robert L. Ory and Harold P. papers is December 1, 1972.